to RAID or not....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Marklar Marklar, Dec 19, 2005.

1. Marklar Marklar

Marklar Marklar Marklar

I am currently using a Western Dig. 36gig raptor drive as my primary and an older ATA samsung 80 gig for storage. I have no experience with Raid and am curious to find out if adding another raptor 36 gig drive in a Raid setup would be worthwhile.
    My pc is used for gaming and personal buisness, only a very small amount of my data is sensitive so I am not overly concerned about drive failure. My chipset does not support raid so I will also need advice on what card to look at.

Thanks y'all

2. Prophets21

Prophets21 Staff Sergeant

It's well worth it, especially with your 10k rpm drives. You would see a big improvement in load times.

3. Marklar Marklar

Marklar Marklar Marklar

Thanks,

Can anyone suggest a prticular RAID controller, and a good resource for setup instructions etc....

4. Wyatt_Earp

Wyatt_Earp MajorGeek

5. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

With a Raptor I wouldnt bother as Wyatt said your only going to see some inprovement in bootup/load times and in games its not going to speed them up or increase the load time of levels ( I have raid0 and its still damm slow to load a new level up in FarCry etc ).

Wouldnt be so bad if you wanted to play with raid if you didnt have to buy a raid card but I personally wouldnt go through the hassle, raid generally only speeds up graphical work, video editing etc

6. Marklar Marklar

Marklar Marklar Marklar

Thanks guys,
    I'll take your advice on this and wont be going with raid. This is the first machine I built, and it happend piecemeal- I did not start out with a plan to build my own, I am pretty happy with the machine and would like to ask as a side note, is there any thing that comes to mind for you guys that I am missing for a gaming machine? other than substantial upgrades of gpu,cpu or drives.

7. Prophets21