Front panel audio input question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by faque, Apr 20, 2005.

1. faque

faque Private E-2

Hello -

I am a bit of a newbie, and always appreciate the help from Major Geeks members. Thanks in advance!

I recently upgraded my system, and the new computer has a front panel with mic and stereo inputs, and head phone outputs. However, i can't quite get the sound receorder or any other audion program to recognize these inputs. Below is (hopefully) some relative information about my system:

P4 3.2 HT - 512 RAM
    Windows XP Home w/SP2
    Apparently there are two audio cards? In the device manager, I have both a C-Media Card (Rear Panel) and a Unimodem Half-Duplex card (the front?)

In the input option for audio devices under control panel, i have tried both cards (actually, there are three options listed: C-Media, Modem #0, and modem #2).

I also sent an e-mail to the manufacturer since this is rather hardware specific, but it never hurts to have some geeks to help. It's usually quicker!

Thanks again.

2. trespasser1234

trespasser1234 Private E-2

Good question.

As far as you having 2 audio cards, this is a common mistake. That unimodem driver is actually for yoru voice modem and does the decoding to make little blips and bleeps into 1's and 0's. That C-media driver is your actual sound card.