Monitors show 'cable not connected' after boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by telecaster, Dec 14, 2011.

1. telecaster

telecaster Private E-2

Hello

I have been using my desktop pc with two VGA Monitors for several months with no problems.

However, each time the pc now boots the monitors soon display the 'cable not connected' message.

I have not altered my display settings or carried out any system alterations in advance of this issue occurring.

As the monitor displays all of the initial boot info ok, it would seem that there is no malfunction with the monitors themselves, nor with the cables.

Sometimes the monitors remain active for a period after booting and I can use windows (home xp sp3) as normal for a few minutes before the cable not connected message appears.

The power scheme is set to 'Never turn off monitor' and 'Never turn off hard disks'

When I look into Computer Management -> Device Manager -> Display Adaptors there are no error messages or question symbols beside the 3 display adaptors. For information they are:

NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT
    USB 2.0 Graphics Card-Extend.
    USB 2.0 Graphics Card-Mirror

After the cable not connected message appears, the computer appears to still be running normally (power light still on, fan still running, no beeping or startup/shutdown noises from hard disk)

Any advice/assistance greatly appreciated

2. Major Attitude

Major Attitude Co-Owner MajorGeeks.Com Staff Member

Under your video card management, you should be able to confirm that each video card is going to a different monitor. Not sure what video card, software or drivers you might be using?

Some utilities might be helpful although none exist for free that I recall. I used to use UltraMon myself:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/UltraMon_d2069.html

3. telecaster

telecaster Private E-2

Thank you for your reply Major Attitude