Extended USB Phasing Out

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by teh_crunch, Feb 6, 2009.

1. teh_crunch

teh_crunch Private E-2

Hey there friends

I work as an apprentice IT / AV Technician within a university. I have been here for about 3 months or so and recently there have been so many problems with the USB that has baffled me and all the technicians within the department.

We have all the towers in racks for the server in our room and the monitor, keyboard and mouse in each of the classrooms where they are needed. We are using Black Box 724-746-5500 Remote Port USB Extenders the Remote Unit has a 4 way multiport for USB in the classroom end and a Local Unit so that we can send USB signals longer distances over CAT5E cable into each room. Bear in Mind the Black Box Ports are quite old. The Pc's are 6months old and are used for a bit of you tube browsing, power point presentations and MS Office.

It goes from: PC in the server racks - Black Box Remote Port USB (Local Unit) so it can be transformed to go through CAT5E - CAT5E - Patch Panel - CAT5E - another patch panel in the room - another Black Box Remote Port USB (Remote Unit) which then has the Mouse / Keyboard / Memory sticks

The USB units are powered at the classroom end, it is just data that is being transferred.

Now, the problem... They keep phasing out. We have tried various ways of trouble shooting but the rooms it happens to seem quite random even though some rooms are worse than others but they just cut out and won't work again in a wide variety of different rooms until we have unplugged and plugged them back in at the Local Unit, this seems to temporarily solve the problem for as long as the lecturer in the room needs to use the PC but if it happens once then it can occur another 2 - 5 times a day and we have to take them a laptop to use instead.