Faulty Desktop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shane809, Mar 4, 2012.

1. Shane809

Shane809 Private E-2

Hello I am a newbie to this site

For months now I've been having problems with my computer and it would just power off suddenly. It seemed like my computer was overheating because it was going of all the time but I just ignored the problem. Recently it just kept on crashing forcing me to shut it down. but now it wont turn on at all and I opened it up to see if the fan was spinning but it wasnt spinning so i decided to put a new fan into the cpmouter the new one works fine but the computer doesnt come on still. could my CPU be burnt out or could it be the motherboard,

Any Ideas Please? :cry

2. Rikky

Rikky Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind

Welcome to the forum:)

Was it the CPU fan you replaced,or some other system fan? Can you post the specs of the computer in as much detail as possible,including your operating system.

First disconnect the power and find the small coin shaped battery on the motherboard,remove it for 20 secs,replace,reconnect power and describe in detail what happens when you press the power button,lights,fans,noises ect.

3. falconattack

falconattack Command Sergeant Major

Hi my friend , after Rikky suggestions , next movement is cheking power supply i guess !! :wave

4. Shane809

Shane809 Private E-2

Hi Guys thanks for replying

There was two fans in the computer all together and I have replaced the CPU fan the other fan was for cooling the computer itself. I cant tell you the exact specfications of the computer as it is rebuilt from scrach by another Person. I have power coming into the computer and I have tested the computer with an old power supply but I am sill getting nothing on the screen just lights and I have taken the cmos battery out like you asked.