do i need to upgrade my videocard?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by psykojojo, Sep 18, 2004.

1. psykojojo

psykojojo Private E-2

hey whats up, im having alil trouble. my computer isnt running games too well, games like far cry, doom 3, halo combat evolved just to name afew, even on the lowest settings possible they still jump and run real funny.im no computer expert, infact ive only recent started learning bout these damn things so im just getting the basics down right now, but i thought i had a decent computer, 2.20 GHz, 3200+ athelon , after i got my computer home i upgraded my ram to 1 gb and i upgraded my video card. now im guessing that my problem is the card right? maybe it just sucks, its an Asylum 128mb, my buddy is a computer dork (no offense guys) and he said something about going to the asylum website to get drivers, but i remember downloading updates for the card when i first installed it. my buddy also says its the games im trying to play and that, basically, my computer doesnt have the balls to run them, thats not really true though because im a RPG guy (i just like playing shooters online)0 but even neverwinter acts up on me....*sigh*.....please, help this poor fool! or ill be stuck playing alice, starcraft and diablo 2 till the end of my days. I can live with the fact that i have to buy a better card if thats what has to happen, im hoping its something else though, my computer runs flawlessly....outside of playing games

2. SiLenZe

SiLenZe Private First Class

you will have to give us more information on what model card you have. Asylum Geforce XXXXXX whatever

3. psykojojo

psykojojo Private E-2

geforceFX 5200

4. InYearsToCome

InYearsToCome MajorGeek

absolutely upgrade.

that card is a TERRIBLE card for gaming, and what your seeing is completely normal for the FX5200.