Newbie Here Need Some Help

Discussion in 'Software' started by milsaps118, Mar 6, 2008.

1. milsaps118

milsaps118 Private E-2

I use WordPerfect OfficeReady that came installed on my pc to create documents. For some reason now, when I open a file it is never in the same format that I save it in! I can't figure it out. I have tons of doc's that I customized just for business purposes and now every file I open is screwed up. I don't even know where to begin to correct this prob. Can someone please help me???

PS... by no means am I computer literate and know just the bare bones basics. If you respond please explain as if I were a 1st grader.:confused
    I know I should post more details but don't know what exactly, so ask me and I can try and answer.

Thanks in advance!

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

I'm not familiar with the version of WP you are using but I'll try to offer a bit of guidance.
    What format do you want to save your documents in? What are they reappearing as?

3. milsaps118

milsaps118 Private E-2

WP v12. I save them as a .doc, the problem I'm having is when I go back and re-open them everything is scrambled out of place, fonts change, and colors will change. It doesn't seem to save them the way I originally created them.

4. Cat_w_9_lives

Cat_w_9_lives Major KittyCat

Might be because the converter is for converting files created in WordPerfect a .wpd, then converting to .doc a Microsoft Word format or vise-versa.

From what you're describing you are trying to use WordPerfect as if it were Microsoft Word, most conversions aren't exact duplicates of the original documents, formatting is not the same.
    Also check that you are using the right format for saving to Word, if you are - then this is as close as you will get most likely.

http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/us/en/Content/1179425570183