Huge Problems after being downgraded from Vista to XP at work

Discussion in 'Software' started by roxygirl, Aug 6, 2007.

1. roxygirl

roxygirl Private E-2

Hi - I am a graphic designer, and have designed numerous documents in Quark Xpress using Vista.

Last week, my company downgraded me from Vista to XP Professional. I soon found out that whenever I make changes to any of the Quark files I created using Vista, they print horribly -- the colors are off and the images are pixellated. I was told that this is because XP and Vista use different color profiles. I fear that because I haved altered the files and saved them in XP format their quality is permanently damaged.

My boss has asked me to find out a way to restore the original quality of these files.

(If this is not possible, all the work I've done since I started my job has been destroyed. :cry)

2. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

3. roxygirl

roxygirl Private E-2

Thank you. I'll give that a try.

4. roxygirl

roxygirl Private E-2

It asks for a password to extract the file. Would you happen to know where I can get this password? Is it the serial number?

This what the dialog box says:

File 'Hexachrome0GOffset' is password protected.
    Please enter the password in the box below.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2007
  5. TimW

6. roxygirl

roxygirl Private E-2

It wasn't the serial key, but I'm still trying...

7. TimW

I'm not sure what is happening with you ...are you sure it doesn't have anything to do with your network security? Have you emailed tech support?

8. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

This one work's with Oracle, try in small case "ids"

Steve

9. roxygirl

roxygirl Private E-2

Tech support is pretty stumped too -- they were the ones who suggested I try to find the answer online.

I even tried creating a password for my company's Quark account, but even that's not working.