EMachines

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MajellaPete, Jul 1, 2004.

1. MajellaPete

MajellaPete Private E-2

Greetings All!!!!

My poor old pc is finally on it's last leg and this fall I must purchase something new. I have heard that E machines might be what I should purchase instead of a desktop pc......but sadly I have no knowledge of how good Emachines are.......I did hear a couple of years back that they were awful! Their motherboards and such burned out easily and you couldn't be on the internet for long periods of time as that "wore" them out. But pricewise an Emachine is more what I can afford. Here's what it is used for: I live in a small religious community and we use it for research on the net, lots and lots of writing, downloading music and making cd's (various church music only), e-mail, a small amount of pics, and some office use. We do not use it for any games or such......mostly our needs are for office type work. So I am a bit confused as to whether we need a desktop pc or will a E machine meet our needs. Any guidance from ya'll would be most appreciated! Oh yeah...we do have 500 dollars saved towards whatever our purchase will be!
    Thank you all inadvance for your help!!!!!
    Br. Peter, OSB

2. TheDoug

TheDoug MajorGeek

I swore the last eMachine that died at my work would be the last ever. It wasn't so much the electronic components as the proprietary, too small power supplies that wore out after all-too-short a period of time. And expensive to replace-- if you could find replacements. I found it cheaper to transplant them to new cases to wring out the last bit of useability.