WMIPRVSE.EXE multiple instances running/crashing pc

Discussion in 'Software' started by ptholt, Jul 18, 2004.

1. ptholt

ptholt Private E-2

Hi Folks,

be gentle with me as im a newbie :)

Have a p4 3.06 running xp sp1 with all latest updates, its running ZA pro firewall and Networks ass AV both of which up to date.

Everything was fine and dandy untill i rebooted this morning.
    Shortly after booting i am getting multiple instances of WMIPRVSE.EXE running, each one taking approx 80k, currently i have 65 of them running and my machine is running like a DOG.

I have ran ad-aware (latest version with all updates) nothing found.
    I have ran stinger from network ass (virus killer) nothing found.
    Done a full system scan with my normal network ass av nothing found.
    cwshredder reports nothing found.
    webroot spy sweeper full scan finds nothing.

I have searched around on google and found several references to virii using the above file, but having checked the registry for the keys it alters, they are not present... (hence why av is not finding anything im guessing).

i have two instances of this file on my pc, one in my windows\prefetch folder -
    WMIPRVSE.EXE-28F301A9.pf 64kb
    and one in system32\wbem folder -
    wmiprvse.exe 199kb

Has anyone got ANY idea whats causing this and more interestingly how on earth i get rid of it!!

thanks.

2. alanc

alanc MajorGeek

65 instances! Sounds like WMI has gone cukoo.

The problem described here:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=319101
    doesn't sound like yours, but I'm thinking that if you try the resolution it just might fix it.

3. billH

billH Master Sergeant

According to this article it seems there is a virus that attaches to the file.