MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-05, 14:08
chiv chiv is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default external motherboard

I have a working Evesham Technology Quest computer (Athlon, XPSP2) and a "dead Protek (Pentium II, Windows ME) with a PCChips M729. PCAnswers tells me I can't hook up the Quest to the hard disk in the Protek. But can I (if I can track one down) find a suitable mobo and use this to bypass the Protek mobo, transferring whatever may be necessary from the Protek mobo? I really don't like the idea of stripping out the Protek mobo. I don't particularly want to shift the Protek hard disk (only 6.4 gigs) to work as a slave to the Quest hard disk (what I had hoped was that I could drive the Protek HD from the Questmobo, but, as I said, PCA tells me I can't). Grateful for any thoughts.
Also, for background, when a mobo won't bleep (fan works) what may have been the first bit to blow? If it's the CPU, is it worth thinking of replacing it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-18-05, 14:51
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,845
Thanks: 130
Thanked 243 Times in 230 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Perhaps an external USB HDD enclosure would help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-05, 15:40
goldfish's Avatar
goldfish goldfish is offline
Lt. Sushi.DC
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Can you not just take the HDD out of one and put it in the other? Would that not be the easiest thing to do?

As for not beeping: could mean anything. Could mean dodgey power supply, could mean the speaker has blown up. You just have no idea. You have to go through normal troubleshooting techniques to try and locate the problem.
__________________
(`._.[ G|Fh ]._.) Folding@Geeks, TEAM 12072 http://www.majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-05, 15:58
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,845
Thanks: 130
Thanked 243 Times in 230 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

True, but in his post it appears that he won't be able to do this. Unless I misread his post.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-05, 14:52
chiv chiv is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Many thanks. Looking at what I wrote, I reckon it could have been clearer. I don't want to get an external hard drive case since I suspect the old 6.4 gigs HD isn't worth that much - it'd just be for playing with. Ditto the Protek as a whole. But it'd be interesting to find out whether I could connect an external motherboard to the Protek, bypassing the original one still in the case.
As for the other beepless motherboard query, what elements can have failed, how can I check them, and is there a good sequence to do the checking? Or is that rather much to ask? I find I can make XPSP2 do quite a lot of what I want, but I don't know that much about the computers themselves. What would it be good to read?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-19-05, 18:06
rogvalcox's Avatar
rogvalcox rogvalcox is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Far west Chicago suburb
Posts: 2,311
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Why would you want a "so called" external motherboard?? I've never heard of that, as far as using to bypass the internal motherboard in order to use the internal components!!?? You've really got me confused...I can't seem to understand why you just don't replace the motherboard inside the case with whatever??

I don't mean to be rude (somebody please clarify if i'm the only one in left field here), but...do REALLY understand what the motherboard is and what it's purpose is...or is there a chance you are getting it confused with something else??

Please clarify!!!!

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-05, 11:38
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,845
Thanks: 130
Thanked 243 Times in 230 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

I'm quite confused also. Still would like to know why you can't take the old hard drive out of the bad computer and put it in the working computer as a secondary device.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-05, 14:52
chiv chiv is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Re: external motherboard

Thanks, guys. What puzzles me is why you're puzzled! All I want to find out is whether it's feasible to put a new motherboard outside a computer and connect it back in to all that the old dead mobo had been fitted to. What I want to know is whether you can. Similarly, I wanted to know whether there is a way to connect a live computer to the hard disk in another one without removing the latter. I know I can replace a mobo. I know I can put a hard disk alongside anothr in the same computer. I just don't want to. It's what is known as scientific exploration, or what makes discoveries possible! If that doesn't grab you, tell me I'm mad, or wasting my time or something. They probably said as much to Edison et al. But thanks for being willing to try to put me right.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-05, 18:26
Wyatt_Earp's Avatar
Wyatt_Earp Wyatt_Earp is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Powell, OH
Posts: 1,377
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Well, i guess you could set a different motherboard outside of the case and plug it in to the devices in the case. It would probably be safer (and not much more complicated) to completely remove the old motherboard from the case and replace it with a different one...
__________________
"I cannot undertake to lay my finger on that article of
the Constitution which granted a right to Congress of
expending, on the objects of benevolence, the money
of their constituents."

-- James Madison
(1751-1836), Father of the Constitution for the USA,
4th US President
_________________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
ABIT KN8 SLI
2 Gb (2x1Gb) PC 3200 Cas 2 Corsair XMS RAM
2x120Gb WD w/ 8Mb cache (RAID 0)
eVGA GeForce 7900GT 256MB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-20-05, 18:48
F A B Scott's Avatar
F A B Scott F A B Scott is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Moved.NE.England
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

I reckon it'd be easy enough to connect the hd from the old one to the new one without taking it out of the 1st one. As long as it 'll reach the cable [presumably it's the IDE type] As for the other questions.....they've been answered already I think.
[don't forget jumpers and master/slave thingy, if you do]
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 05-21-05, 14:52
chiv chiv is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Re: external motherboard

Further thanks - especially to Wyatt Earp and F A B Scott. I know nobody nensible would do what I want to try - but I do want to try. Last (I promise) question - what book can I read about how computer components work together which might help me get a grasp of how bits and pieces link up? Is there a Haynes manual on how to make a computer? Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-21-05, 15:06
fleppen's Avatar
fleppen fleppen is offline
Gumshoe
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 979
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

I don't know about a book, but www.anandtech.com has a lot of technical articles about how stuff works in modern day computers
__________________
Freedom is only a hallucination,
That waits at the edge of the places you go when you dream
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-21-05, 15:07
Novice's Avatar
Novice Novice is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 92
Thanked 96 Times in 92 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

As for the "Hayne's" manual on PC's, I would recommend "Upgrading and Repairing PC's" by Scott Mueller. You should be able to find this at your local book store.
__________________
Novice
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-21-05, 20:05
F A B Scott's Avatar
F A B Scott F A B Scott is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Moved.NE.England
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

This here site is good in non geek language too.
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/
Also covers non computer stuff in easy to read style.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-21-05, 20:46
zimpal zimpal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Marklar
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

Motherboards are mounted so as to isolate their zillions of uninsulated circuit componants from 'ground' or short circuit. Propping or dangling a mobo outside it's designed position creates countless difficulties. Any voltage potential between isolated 'grounds' could damage componants or cause the system to simply not work. IDE ribbon cables are often hard enough to position in master / slave uses in a 'normal' computer. I've heard the maximum length of these cables must be 18" or less. A floppy drive cable may end up too short. A CD-to-mobo or CD-to-sound card audio cable may end up too short. The power supply-to-mobo cable bundle will almost certainly be too short. Etc., etc., etc.
__________________
We've got enough youth. How about a 'fountain of smart'?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 05-21-05, 23:57
F A B Scott's Avatar
F A B Scott F A B Scott is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Moved.NE.England
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: external motherboard

I've just tried it without removing hardware or mobos...as long as the two computers are side by side there's enough length in the wires. Well there is with mine anyway.
It goes without saying you've got to be careful in the electricity department. And if you are doing it in an experimental situation with old or older parts, there's nothing much to lose.
Good luck.

ps.zimpal. some repair techs I know test mobos lying on a flat, static free table [the mobos not the techs :D ] and plug things into them one by one. On the whole I agree with you though, it's not advisable unless you know what you're doing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:20.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger