Adjusting fan speed without bios/speedfan

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DTBIncarnate, Jan 25, 2013.

1. DTBIncarnate

DTBIncarnate Private E-2

Basically I just got a new computer with an AMD FX-6100 processor, it comes with 3 fans installed, but the one on the side is ALWAYS on, and running at around 3500 rpm. I can't change the speed through BIOS, and speedfan doesn't seem to work at all for me.

I was told by the computer's tech support that it is probably controlled by the motherboard, and not bios. (Although it has settings 1-9 in bios that I can set, it just doesn't seem to change them at all)

I am completely new to this kind of thing, but my god I need to stop this noise. It is constantly running no matter what usage it is at. I've also tried adjusting the settings through power management -> Advanced power settings, with no luck. I am using Windows 8 by the way.

I took it apart and looked at the fan, it's some brand I've never heard of (sadly forgot the name whilst writing this) and it seemed to work and sound fine when it was detached from the side panel, but when I re-attach it it makes a buzzing noise, which makes me believe it's caused by the flow of air through the fan.

ANYWAYS! Is there any way I can change the fan settings, or make the BIOS setting actually effect the fans? I am seriously thinking about just getting a water cooled system just so I can unplug that one completely.

Thanks - D

P.S. Sorry for the wall of text, and will be monitoring this thread if any info is needed.

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi

Can you tell us the name of the brand of PC and model version you have if from DELL, HP, ACER etc or if it was a custom build what motherboard make and model you have?

As not knowing your Windows version follow the below if you do not know the answers to the above as it may help us

3. DTBIncarnate

DTBIncarnate Private E-2

Here you go. :cool