Toshiba Satellite Laptop

Discussion in 'Software' started by jebyrnes, Apr 14, 2009.

1. jebyrnes

jebyrnes Private E-2

Hello,

I used to work as a Desktop Computer Technician some years back and have built many a Desktop computer for friends. I am also aware that Laptops and Desktops are two completely different items and completely understand that things do change and this has me baffled. http://forums.majorgeeks.com/images/smilies/confused.gif

A friend of mine has a Toshiba Satellite Laptop (year built: 2004/05) and it was working fine until one day when the monitor turned all black with an Underscore blinking.

She said when you powered it back on it went to the Welcome Toshiba screen and then it will go blank with the blinking line.

She tried to use the Operating CD to reinstall the OS and got to the screen and tells you to remove all disks and Cd's and reboot the Laptop, you do that and it comes back to the black screen with the blinking line and does nothing else.

Through asking questions to her, I did find out that she had virus's and spy ware on the laptop before all this started happening. (Just by her telling me what was popping up on the screen before it went blank). http://forums.majorgeeks.com/images/smilies/duck.gif

NOTE: ****One thing gets me is she swears this Laptop has Windows XP on it, when you insert the OS CD it says starting Windows 98. When I went to delete the partition it was not formatted to either FAT32 or NTFS... I now forget what the format was, but it took me forever to delete the non windows partition, but this might because of the issues she has had trying to reinstall the OS...I think I remember Windows XP always being NTFS....