What are the best hardware diagnostics tools

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by manardshizz, Apr 14, 2009.

1. manardshizz

manardshizz Private E-2

I work as a bench tech for a computer repair company. We're implementing a new diagnostics process for every machine. Here is a list of the things we need to test: power supply, HDD, RAM, motherboard, video card, NIC, and processor.

I currently am using a CoolMax PS-224 to test the power supply. I then use Hiren's Boot CD to run PC-Doctor to do the rest of the diagnostics. I'm just wondering if there is any software that is better, or if anyone has an opinion on what is the best diagnostics tools/software/process.

I'm open to anything new, lemme know what you guys use!

2. Digerati

Digerati Major Geek Extraordinaire

I suggest you use Google - especially since you are getting paid to do and know this stuff. :confused - I am not trying to give you a hard time, but forum volunteers come to help people compute safely, not to do work you are getting paid to do. If your boss put you up to it, sorry you were put in the middle.

From your side, you can see 1000s of opinions on dozens of programs through searching the Internet, and look for trends and patterns and common complaints that may be important to you from many reviewers. That's much more productive than waiting around here for 1 or 2 replies about a few programs.

I will say this - no one test program does it all, and so you will find, and will need many. I recommend you try several in each category, and select those that fit your needs.