Printer Sharing Question

Discussion in 'Software' started by Drewzer03, Apr 20, 2004.

1. Drewzer03

Drewzer03 Private E-2

Ok, I asked this question a few days ago, and I didn't really get much help that I could really understand so here I post it again. (No offense to those who did help, I thank you!) I have two different computers. One is the "main" computer running Windows 98. Slow don't use it that much but my printer etc. is loaded to it. I'ts the desktop PC so that's why I call it the "Main" computer. I also have a Laptop which I am currently using, it has Windows XP home edition. Also I have a linksys wireless B router hardwired to the main computer and a wireless access card on the laptop computer to connect to the internet. I am new at this whole Networking thing but I need to know what I have to do in order to use the printer on the main pc on my laptop. Example, project I need to print but no printer for the laptop, is there a way to print on that printer? Please help! thanks! :)
    I was told all I need to do is know the name and IP address of the printer on the main pc and ad it to my laptop. Is it that Easy?? please help

2. chaslang

chaslang MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert Staff Member

Yes, you have to add File and Printer sharing for Microsoft Networks on your main computer to allow the printer to be shared on the network. But obviously for the laptop to get to it the main computer will have to be on. (Adding a print server can get you around that). On the laptop you have to add a new Network printer. It should be able to find the networked printer once it is shared on you main computer (reboot needed after sharing).

3. Drewzer03

Drewzer03 Private E-2

How can I do this?? Right click on the printer and give it a name and turn on sharing?? And then I just need to add the printer on my laptop and I should be all set??
    And the Computer must be on even if I can make copies etc. when It's off??

4. Main Frame

Main Frame Corporal