Remote access to Mybook live.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brewbush, Apr 1, 2011.

1. brewbush

brewbush Private E-2

Hello,
    I am trying to set up remote access for my ext HD. I have seen some random instructions but I can not figure it out.
    I do not want to use the mionet program and would like a free option.

I am using a Dlink router and the Mybook live 1 TB storage.

I have set up a free account at dyndns.com and even put the information in the DNS of the router set up. I am not sure if I am doing it right.

Does anyone know how to step by step set this up? I am NOT good with understanding portforwarding, ftp, dns tech. So if you can really hand hold that would be great.

Thanks in advance.

2. handygal

handygal First Sergeant

I was hoping someone would jump in on this. I have two that I've needed to configure so I finally brought home the 2TB to do it this weekend. I'll write out my steps and hopefully I'm successful so that I can share them with you.

I plan on using FTP like most of our vendors and print ad companies use to transfer large graphics files. It's likely to be the only option that I look at so if you are fine with that, I'll try to get you setup the way I hope to get setup.

3. brewbush

brewbush Private E-2

great, I would really appreciate it!!

4. handygal

handygal First Sergeant

me too, i got stuck! It's #2 on my list back at the office tomorrow, i hope to have it cleared then.

5. techsent

techsent Corporal

Hey Brewbush,

Install FTP Server software on a computer in the network where the ext HD is. Here's a decent free one for personal use. http://www.sofotex.com/Cerberus-FTP-Server-download_L431.html

Create a new user account within the FTP server software.
    Select the option to designate the root folder for the new user and browse through the network to a share (which will become the root folder) that is on the ext HD.