GermanOne Callout - batch move files

Discussion in 'Software' started by HardRockr, Sep 21, 2014.

1. HardRockr

HardRockr Private E-2

Been looking around for hours. I have my own computer repair shop in a small town/city with about 10 competitors. I always drop my email - website - online scheduling site one the desktop. Well coming into virus season soon . Winter and my old man who is 80 wants to help, keep his mind going. So I got Techwaru for him to make it as automated as possible. Its getting to the point where I may need to hire but I'm hanging on the edge hoping my dad can give me a hand and help him have something to live for. Ok so I want to automate dropping my icons on desktop, also bring up IE manage add-ons window, and automatically run widows auto update. I have no experience in batch files but know they can do a great job. Any help appreciated.

2. GermanOne

GermanOne Guest

It's certainly up to me because I'm not a native English but it's difficult for me figuring your requirements out.

... as seen in the topic
    The command for moving files is simply MOVE, e.g.
    Code:
    move "c:\wherever\test.txt" "%userprofile%\desktop\"
    ... to move a file to your desktop

Please explain more comprehensive what exactly you want to do.

Impossible using batch as far as I know. Neither did I find a command option for iexplore.exe to do that nor runs this window a separate process.

Isn't it just a setting in the control panel?

Regards
    GermanOne

3. foogoo

foogoo Major "foogoo" Geek

Macros, get a program like http://www.robot-soft.com/automatic-mouse-keyboard.html or https://www.jitbit.com/macro-recorder/ - they compile to exe files. So you can write a macro like
    open iexplore
    press alt o
    press alt a
    Those three commands launch IE, open the Tools menu and select Add-Ons.

Here is my example for the code above.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/rhi6lbzvtlfzkpl/addons.exe?dl=0