Help with video gaming performance.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by FinalJason823, Jul 18, 2004.

1. FinalJason823

FinalJason823 Private E-2

undefinedundefinedundefined

Ok guys,I've got a query.I'm not a pc novice,however I am a novice basically to video cards.I currently have a AMD Athlon XP 2800+,dual channeled 512MB Geil Golden Dragon 400MHZ ram,dual 120GB Western Digital SE hdd's with RAID 0,TDK 440n DVD+/-RW,on a DFI LAN Party NFII Ultra rev.b with an antec 420watt true power psu,and a Sony SDM/HS53 15" LCD monitor.I am currently using a GeForce FX5600XT video card because of nVidia's dirty name game and I want to upgrade.I have about 275-285 bucks to play with and I was wondering which would be the better option,getting another 512MB of RAM and a Radeon 9600XT video card,or going big with a PNY GeForce 6800 standard which I found for 285 bucks.All help would be appreciated,thanks guys.

Jason

2. shockcell

shockcell Private E-2

i would go for the 9800 if i was you, look on ebay or pricewatch.com for good deals on them

3. Snuffles

Snuffles Private First Class

Right now, the problem with the 6800 cards is that they are still brand new and very buggy. My local gaming cafe has FX 5950 ultras in the machines and they work very well, but are a little pricy. I am planning on spending between 260-280 for a 9800 Pro, with 256 MB onboard memory from ATI.

4. koppinjo

koppinjo Private E-2

If you act quickly, I believe that it's Best Buy that has the 9800 pro on sale for 179.99 after rebates this week, until 7/24. Thats the cheapest I've ever seen it, and I bought mine on newegg about 3 weeks ago for ~224.00. It works great though, so if it helps, I'd go with that, as long as you don't mind waiting for the rebates. I also found the 9800pro AIW for 199.99 at CompUSA I think

5. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea