Is it my DVD burner?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Marcbolan, Dec 18, 2005.

1. Marcbolan

Marcbolan Private E-2

Right, I have been backing up my DVDs for about 2 years using DVD shrink to encode and then burn with nero.

Now EVERYTIME I try and burn a backup copy of my DVD, the burn completes with no apparent errors but when played back it is very stuttery and choppy and jumpy. When I play the video ts files on my hard drive before burning, they are FINE! What on earth is going on? I am using the same method as always so have no clue as to whether my DVD writer is caput or if it is another problem?

Any help please,
    Ta x

2. Marcbolan

Marcbolan Private E-2

I forgot to add -

My dvd writer is TEAC DVD+RW DV-W58E

I am using Datawrite Titanium DVDs

I have already checked DMA in device manager and the primary IDE still says current is PIO even though use DMA when avail is selected. I have cleaned the laser with a DVD cleaner disc and I have checked for new drivers and firmware.

3. Rob M.

Rob M. First Sergeant

Have you tried other media? They're definitely NOT all alike, and Datawrite could have changed the formulation of the Titanium DVDs in a way that doesn't agree with your drive.

How well do the recordings you're making play back on another machine?

You might want to try media rated at a higher write speed than your drive.

4. Omegamerc

Omegamerc MajorGeek

The problem with DVD RW burners or any other DVD burner along with it is that not all media and burners get along, there is usually a recommended list of media mfg's that the burner mfg recommends. Try looking for a filmware upgrade too.

5. Marcbolan

Marcbolan Private E-2

I have tried 3 diff types of disc, including ones that I used before the problem and still no joy. When I try and read one of the discs with dvddecrypter it comes up with an i/o device error. I have checked for firmware update and none available. It is all very confusing.

6. Rob M.

Rob M. First Sergeant