no keyboards work on my pc

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Nexus_, Nov 16, 2012.

1. Nexus_

Nexus_ Staff Sergeant

long story short

I use a wireless keyboard which ive been using for about 2 years almost

Today i was typing and all of a sudden it just stopped working. This has happened about 2 times before but i managed to fix it by unplugging the keyboard usb connector. Sometimes it requires a reboot to fix and i tried and same problem persists.

Here is what i have done so far

1. tried multiple usb slots nothing worked

2. replaced batteries on keyboard no result either

3. rebooted pc 5 times..no difference

4. Did virus/spyware scans..everything came back empty and clean

5. installed new windows updates. no change

6. Tried a wired keybaord and another different wireless one..pc doesn't read any of them.

7. checked all usb ports with other devices to check if they work . They work just fine its just keyboards that are the problem. When i attach the usb receiver for a keyboard it detec4s it however when i use any keys on ANY keyboard it reads none of them.

This is a bit frustrating since i typed all of this using an onscreen keyboard which takes alot longer. Help please?

2. Nexus_

Nexus_ Staff Sergeant

Well i managed to get my PS/2 wired keyboard to work after several tries.

However i don't like this keyboard because its large and takes more space, i much rather be using my slim wireless keyboard.

I tried multiple times and my pc still won't read it, i tried several new batteries so that's not the problem. I look in my control panel on connected devices and it sates '' this device is working properly'' but it doesn't let me type anything with it.

I clicked to download new drivers but they are up to date , so i don't know what to do anymore. The computer detects the hardware so it doesn't appear nonfunctional?

3. foogoo

foogoo Major "foogoo" Geek