Are your downloads safe?

Discussion in 'Software' started by notbrilliant, Jan 22, 2015.

1. notbrilliant

notbrilliant Private E-2

Last night, I came here for the 1st time, and downloaded some things. As I am also new to a malware site that I am sure you all know, they have made a few recommendations for my computer. I have also been reading, and had some ideas what might make my computing safer.

So, last night, I saw a link and came here and downloaded. However, one download that was offered was rejected by my alerts as infected, dangerous and suggested I get back to safety.

Are you able to track activity that I did last night, since I wasn't registered yet? I am looking for that sample, to submit it.

2. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

Yes, our downloads are all safe. Some include bundled junk, but it is stated in our downloads when they do that you have to go through the install process carefully and uncheck any add ons that are included. This is the way of freeware now and is independent of our site.

We do not track activity so do not have any idea what you would have tried to download.

Depending on what the software was that you were trying to install and what it performs on your system, it can trigger a false positive with some antivirus.

You can always use this site to check out any files before you install them: http://virusscan.jotti.org/en-GB

Last edited: Jan 23, 2015
  3. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

This is a null and a skewed negative those that do not know how the internet put out to scar folk, yes websites have tracking cookies and they watch where you click and go on a specific site, but they are NOT malware or harm you, they are data collection, just like a supermarket loyalty card!

To be honest we and most Gov agencies have no time or manpower to look at what a user is doing, don't get sucked into that FUD.