"You need permission to perform this action."

Discussion in 'Software' started by xhayatox, Jan 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xhayatox

xhayatox Private First Class

God, the day I bought Vista. I f*cking regret it. I AM AN ADMINISTRATOR on my OWN computer, and I have disabled (UAC), and when I attempt to delete folders on my computer, I get this god damn error message all the time. It simply REFUSES to allow me to delete my own files. Like I just recently installed a Toolbar, and I just tried to remove it and this error continues to pop up. I don't know what to do at this point. I have never been this frustrated with anything in my life. I can't delete my OWN files. What kind of BS is this? Please, somebody tell me this is some joke. How do I get this stupid OS to cooperate with me? I need these stupid messages to stop coming up. I don't need these stupid restrictions on my own computer, especially when it comes to deleting files I don't need.

2. Nick T

Nick T MajorGeek

Open an Administrator Command Prompt.

1. Start | type Cmd.exe | right-click on cmd.exe and selected Run as
    Adminstrator
    2. Navigate to directory using cd command
    3. use rename command to rename folder (synatx is 'rename
    <directoryname> <newdirectoryname>')
    4. type exit to close cmd.exe
    5. navigate to now-renamed folder and delete it.

3. COMPUABLE

COMPUABLE First Sergeant

Hi there xhayatox...

The following site webpage list's a step-by-step (with pics and all) method of possibly alleviating your frustration with the problem of these tediously annoying "You need permission to perform this action" warnings.

How to Take Ownership and Full Control Permissions of Files & Folders in Windows​