Windows Update Error Help!

Discussion in 'Software' started by bug, Dec 21, 2005.

1. bug

bug Private E-2

I downloaded windows update for Net Framework version 1.1 SP1, but couldn't install. I looked in my add/remove and found it there, however windows kept saying I needed to install that update. Someone suggested I unintsall from my control panel and then try again. Well when I try to uninstall, it says This action is only valid for products that are currently installed. The little icon is saying I have something waiting to install is on my taskbar. I have an application driver/recovery in my computer which makes anything easy to install, if I have to. I am a novice. Thanks

2. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

Hi Bug,

Is this the error? Error 1605: "This action is only valid for products that are currently installed" ?

Steve

3. bug

bug Private E-2

Matacumbie, it doesn't have the # in the box, but that is what it says when I try to uninstall, This action is not valid etc. I wouldn't have even thought anything was wrong, but my windows update keeps saying I need to install the Net Framework Version 1.1 SP1. I was surprised the little icon still stays on my taskbar when I saw that it Net framework was in my add/remove programs like I had already installed it. Someone told me that something might be damaged when it was installed and that is why I keep getting prompted that I still have the update left.

4. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

5. bug

bug Private E-2

When I click on the little update icon on my taskbar it now says KB886903-X96.exe The upgrade patch cannot be installed by the windows installer service because the program to be upgraded may be missing or the upgrade patch may update a different version of the program. Verify that the program to be upgraded exists on your computer and that you have the correct upgrade patch.

6. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

Try step A in the link. I'm not sure about the second message you are getting.

Steve