Setting up a webserver from home computer

Discussion in 'Software' started by computernewbie, Sep 26, 2007.

1. computernewbie

computernewbie Private E-2

I really want to set up a website, but hosting a website is a lot of money, that i don't have lol. so i was thinking and i decided i want to make my computer a web server to host my website, if my website is successful then later i will upgrade to a better host but for now my computer will do just fine.I am willing to pay for a domain name, because it is cheap(any suggestions on were to get a domain?).
    so can someone help me do this,i am new to computer to please spare me on the technical works and technical directions. thanks in advance

and also i cant do anything that will brake my computer it's the only one i got.:)

2. pclover

pclover MajorGeek

I am not sure how to make the domain work off your pc but you can use Apache which is free you can get it here Also i recommend using Name Cheap for you domain which is here And also i recommend using a Dynamic DNS service and forward your domain URL to that addresses not inless you have a static IP. NameChep has a Dynamic DNS service free of change when you buy a domain with them. I use NameCheap for my domains but i am not sure how there Dynamic DNS service works because i use a webhost.

3. Colemanguy

Colemanguy MajorGeek