MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-12, 10:34
boston_019 boston_019 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

Hi,

Running Firefox 15, and the most current Flash (as of an hour ago), on XP.

I take an online math course through my college, and it uses Flash to show the problems that I do in my assignments. Periodically, it will totally stop working, and fail to load my problems (hereinafter referred to as exercises, to prevent confusion). It has stopped loading exercises again, as of yesterday. Plugin-container gets stuck and the whole browser freezes (requiring me to shut down plugin-container via Task Manager).

Tech support typically has had me add several websites to various trusted/allowed lists in FF. These websites disappear off those lists periodically as well (not to mention Windows deciding to not "use Windows to automatically configure network settings" periodically). Those sites have been restored to the various lists on which they need to be.

Tech support is unable to resolve my problem. I tried disabling crash protection, to no avail. I tried creating a new FF profile dedicated to my schoolwork only, no luck. I tried resetting Firefox, no luck. I encounter the same problem in Chrome and in IE.

HELP!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-14-12, 00:32
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,638
Thanks: 17
Thanked 273 Times in 245 Posts
Default Re: Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

What is your Windows version?

What is your display adapter, device driver version & date?

Have you tried to upgrade to the latest Firefox version (16.0.1)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-12, 09:25
boston_019 boston_019 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwillener View Post
What is your Windows version?

What is your display adapter, device driver version & date?

Have you tried to upgrade to the latest Firefox version (16.0.1)?
Windows XP 32

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 (from Device Manager). 2 entries, the first is function 0 and the second is function 1. Both using version 6.14.10.5182, driver date 11/11/2009. Update driver tells me there is no new update available.

I just checked my Firefox, it's now at 16.0.1 (must have updated overnight), but this hasn't corrected the issue.

I'm told at http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthr...79#post1777779 that I don't have a malware problem, FWIW...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-12, 09:40
boston_019 boston_019 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

I also tried going back to Flash 10.3xxxxxx, no luck, so I'll return to the most current version (11.4.xxxxxx)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-12, 20:06
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,638
Thanks: 17
Thanked 273 Times in 245 Posts
Default Re: Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

What I would try if I found myself with your problem is to update the graphics driver via http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect (works better on IE than other browsers).

Next I would try a clean Flash Player install, as described in http://forums.adobe.com/thread/928315
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-14-12, 22:24
boston_019 boston_019 is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Flash/ Plugin-container Stuck in FF

The detector didn't work in IE or FF. Oddly, the math site is working now, the only clue I have is I changed the "Disable video and animation on a page that does not use external media player" setting to Enable in Internet Options> Security. I know that should govern IE and not FF... but it's the only thing that I changed before it worked. I dunno?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin-container.exe Issues. Arcanum Software 2 09-12-10 21:26
Info: Firefox Plugin Container for ver. 3.6.4 and above mjnc Software 3 08-14-10 17:48
WMP plugin??? bonoboy Software 4 07-23-07 10:41
Help! PC Case lock is stuck! Door is stuck shut! Tard Hardware 4 06-29-06 06:00
flash player plugin does not complete installation cutlassgirl Software 3 04-11-06 03:04


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger