Help with Compaq Presario Driver......

Discussion in 'Software' started by mommalumps, Dec 28, 2008.

1. mommalumps

mommalumps Private E-2

I purchased a Compaq Presario about 3 years ago and I could play videos, CD's, and all was well. About 4 months ago, I tried to burn a CD and the drive would not recognize it. I placed a DVD in the drive, no play. I have textbooks with CD-ROM's accompaning the book, they will not play. Will I need to purchase a new hard drive. I am a student nurse and my first computer game was "Pong" back in '81, so be patient with me. Please help, Yall.. Thanks in advance.

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek

:wave Welcome to Major Geeks! :major
    First, what version of Windows are you running? If you open My Computer, are the CD drives listed with the appropriate drive letters? If you leave My Computer open, and pop in a CD, what exactly happens? Any error messages or messages of any kind? Do the CD icons (if present) change when a CD/DVD is inserted? If you go to the Device Manager (Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager) what is listed under "CD/DVD-ROM Drives"? You can try using the steps and the fix suggested in this thread if your drives aren't showing up in "My Computer"....

[dlb]

3. mommalumps

mommalumps Private E-2

Thanks dlb:),
    I'll try to answer your questions to the best of my ability. I turned on the computer and it read Windows XP. I did the Control activity and under DVD/CD-ROM Drives it read: HL-DT-STDVDRRW GCA-4164B. When I popped an audio and then a DVD, both times a tiny CD appeared and goes to "Files Ready To Be Written To CD" with icons . The icons are "New Folder" (nothing in it), "Adobe Reader 8" and "Windows Media Player". When I go to "Windows Media Player" I press play and I get some "internet stuff" that my male family members enjoy.:-o I thought that the movie or CD would play.. but no.

4. dlb

dlb MajorGeek