Linux Question

Discussion in 'Software' started by f2rc, May 24, 2015.

1. f2rc

f2rc Private E-2

Linux users:

Which flavor would you recommend to run on a Dell Laptop (Latitude D610, Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, with 504 M of RAM)? Looking to switch totally, not dual boot.

I can't afford to buy a new computer but I need to get away from XP. I just use for browsing and burning music CDs. I am interested in learning more about Linux anyway so this seems like a good jumping off point.

Obviously I'm a novice so user friendly interface would be best to start.

2. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

A couple of suggestions. Rather than committing yourself to one distro now why not try a few first but without - yet - dumping XP. Have a read here and download two or three, storing the ISO files somewhere on your hard disk that is easy to locate? Then install EasyBCD. EasyBCD gives you a boot menu which, initially, will only have XP on it. But by using the Add New Entry feature you can point it to each or any of the downloaded ISOs and they will be added to your boot menu. Nothing is installed to your hard disk - these ISOs will run as live systems and you can try them and chop and change until you find a distro that suits you.

3. Earthling

Just thinking about the very limited capabilities of your Dell Latitude I would recommend you start by looking at Puppy Linux. I think the popular Ubuntu would completely swamp your laptop.

4. f2rc

f2rc Private E-2

I hadn't heard I will give it a look. HAve you ever messed around with Openbox? heard that recommended for my crappy hardware limits in another forum.....

5. Eldon

Eldon Major Geek Extraordinaire

6. Hedon James

Hedon James Sergeant

All the advice in this thread is solid.