CD drive/ hard drive problems on installation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by the mitchell, Apr 3, 2005.

1. the mitchell

the mitchell Private E-2

Hi there go easy on me im a newb. :S
    right basically i bought a brand spanking new maxtor 160 gig harddrive this week to add to the space i already have (a 10gig western digital caviar whajamajobby). I installed the hard drive as a slave and turned my old hard drive from cable select to master and my cd drive is currently on cable select although i also tried it as a master. at first my cd drive was fine. until i formatted the hard drive in windows and when i rebooted all of a sudden my cd drive was gone. i went to my computer > manage and it says the cd-rw drivers cannot be loaded (err 31 [iirc]) i tried updating the drivers which didnt work so then i tried uninstalling them and reinstalling them. once again it didnt work.

When i go into the bios i get this about my IDE connections:

primary 0: hard drive
    primary 1: hard drive
    secondary 0: cd reading device
    secondary 1: off

primary 0 & 1 and secondary 0 i set to auto in the bios and so everything seems normal in there too. when i looked in computer management though i noticed that in the properties for my hard drives etc there is a location bit.

my old hard drive is set to location 0 (0)
    my new one is set to location 1 (1)
    and my cd drive is set to 0 (0)
    so far this is the only thing i can see that may be a problem. it looks like my computer thinks that both my old hard drive and cd drive seem to be trying to use the same connection.

if anyone could please give me a little help as to what the problem may be i would hugely appreciate it.ive been tearing my hair out for the last 2 days trying to work out whats going on.

2. BillD

BillD Private First Class