Minor Geek here

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by Blank_Stare, Apr 18, 2008.

1. Blank_Stare

Blank_Stare Private E-2

OK, my non-tech friends are convinced that I am the God of Computers. I guess that's what I get for offering to help. Anyways, I don't usually sign up for forums, but when I absolutely can NOT solve a problem for myself....well, it's good to know when you are licked.

And I am.:banghead

I'm not an IT person, but I've been tinkering with computers since my 8086, and Dos 2.0, back in the 80's. So, I'm not an expert, but I do have some basic understandings of the crap that goes on inside that "black box".:crap

Once I get a chance to follow all the instructions, I'll be posting (attaching) logs and asking questions about such wonderful things as SmitFraud-c.coreservice, vundo, and some other lovely pains in the backside that my friend let onto their computer, when they disabled AVG, Spybot, and Winpatrol, because they thought they could improve performance.:cry

They really did a great job, before they gave it to me - it took almost 5 hours to boot, the first time I powered it up. It took several more days to get Spybot and AVG re-installed, because they were trashed. Now that I have those installed, I've got the boot time down to a few minutes, but those pesky trojans just won't pack their bags, and go back where they came from.

You just can't protect people from themselves, no matter how hard you try.

I am about to leave town for the weekend, but I'll be back Monday, to ask for help working through these joyous challenges, once I pound through the instruction set, as outlined.