Fast [inexpensive] removable storage

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ChuckS, Apr 1, 2005.

1. ChuckS

ChuckS Private E-2

A couple of days ago I started a thread about firewire drive enclosures and to my surprise I didn’t get a single reply. So I’ll try and rephrase my situation.

I am an editor and need a lot of fast [inexpensive] removable storage. I have been looking at multi bay firewire enclosures but there is quite a range in price and difference features and I’m looking for advice on sorting out the differences and purchasing the right enclosure.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks

2. bigbazza

bigbazza R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek

Don't know whether this will help. I read, in the last few days, of a USB click drive of 4 gigabytes capacity, for around USD$500. Bazza

===

3. ChuckS

ChuckS Private E-2

Thanks, I'll check that out.

I have about 3TB of disk that I would like to keep about 500+GB online at one time [removable storage].

4. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

I like Bazza was thinking of either USB pen drives or what about DVD?

DVD if you say get a Dual Layer Drive... albiet the Dual Layer blanks are expensive still for 8.5gb of storage but you can still always use the single layer 4.7gb DVDs and these are a really cheap method of backup/storage plus pretty portable too, until thr Dual Layer blank DVDs get a bit cheaper then you already have a Dual Layer burner.

a few questions about what you need it for I hope arnt too rude?

How much space do you need?
    Would you need to add more drives as these fill up?
    Does it have or need to be portable?

5. ChuckS

ChuckS Private E-2

Thanks, a few questions are not rude at all.