WGA sucks - getting messages on a RETAIL genuine copy!

Discussion in 'Software' started by tom66, Apr 21, 2011.

1. tom66

tom66 Private E-2

My friend gave me a Windows XP SP3 Retail disc. It is a genuine disc, complete with hologram and printed manual. He gave it to me because he wiped his drive and installed Windows 7 on his new machine. According to Microsoft's EULA this is acceptable. Anyway, I have been using it for about 3 months now but recently Windows has popped up with a "this software must be activated" dialog. Upon saying "Yes", the activation dialog opens a blue window which does nothing besides having a few IE "broken image" icons in it. So not only is it incorrectly saying the software is not activated it also refuses to let me activate it. I suspect Windows is broken somehow.

However I have found a way to log in as administrator. If WinKey+U is pressed, the Utility dialog launches. From there, there is a link to the Microsoft website. Clicking that launches Firefox, giving me HDD access. I can launch IE from it and browse the HDD and can even launch my games and software (that is, DirectX 9 games are running fine and at full speed - the computer logs in as a full administrator!!) however, explorer.exe will not run and I do not want to run in this configuration forever. I previously discovered this on another computer which had the same issue (which had a genuine, manufacturer supplied Windows copy - it was an out-of-the-box media PC but out of warranty.)

What can I do?

I think I will just install a "WPA patch" like I did on my last machine but I am wondering if there is a better solution.

I hate Microsoft, mostly because of dirty tricks like this. :( I run Ubuntu on all my other computers but Ubuntu doesn't play Windows games very well and doesn't run so well on my media PC. Otherwise, I would have given Microsoft the shove long ago.

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi