upgrading acer aspire x3400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by scotmick, Oct 24, 2011.

1. scotmick

scotmick Private E-2

hi im a total noob to this but looking for some help. my computer started recently lagging when i play any game on it (IE) company of heroes , warcraft even minecraft! it works fine for the first couple of minutes then about 10 min into the game the whole computer lags even just doing simple tasks like opening a folder the computer slows down then i leave it for a copule of minutes and its back to normal. i searched a few forums looking for this problem and most ppl have suggested not enough RAM so i was wondering if this is the problem i dont think its a virus as i completely wiped my computer and set it back to its factory default. so before i begin purchasing RAM i wondered if anyone can help many thanks.

2. falconattack

falconattack Command Sergeant Major

Hi mate and welcome to MG 's :major , is this your computer ?

http://www.slashgear.com/acer-aspire-x3400-u2012-sff-pc-review-1594020/

Follow this procedure

http://www.microsoft.com/atwork/maintenance/speed.aspx

which is your hhd free capacity and how much memory ram do you have ? :wave

3. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

4. brownizs

brownizs MajorGeek

Actually plodr, 3.75. They have to go with a 64bit edition of Windows to utilize 4gb or better.

5. scotmick

scotmick Private E-2

this is the specs here i looked up maximum ram and it says it was 8gb

System Model Aspire X3400
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor, 2700 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date AMI P01-B1, 02/04/2010
    SMBIOS Version 2.6
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 3.00 GB
    Total Physical Memory 2.75 GB
    Available Physical Memory 1.45 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 5.50 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 3.95 GB
    Page File Space 2.75 GB

thanks for the help :)

6. augiedoggie