Display error 24 - unable to solve...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rigmaster, Jul 31, 2005.

1. Rigmaster

Rigmaster Private E-2

Guys,

I'm a newbie here- excuse me if I don't know all the protocols around here, I'll try to pick them up quickly.

Anyway- here are the details on my PC:

Compaq Presario 5WV280
    900 mhz AMD athlon
    Windows ME

256 MB RAM
    30 GB HD
    56k modem

Machine is pretty much as setup from Compaq, except we added 128MB RAM a couple of weeks ago for a total of 256 MB- no problems after that install. We also recently replaced the modem, the original modem died and it was replaced with a Diamond multimedia Supramax 56i PCI that my brother gave me. No problems with that after we got it installed + running.
    The problem came up about a week after the modem replacement + RAM install.

I am using Netzero Dialup as my ISP.

The problem I am having is this. My PC is in (what I think is) Safe mode- low resolution display, giving me Error 24 "Display driver error". It tells me that I need to reinstall the display driver, or install an upgraded driver, because the current driver is either damaged or not correctly installed. It then prompts me to the "Installation wizard" to find a better driver- but when I go thru that procedure, it says I already have the best driver installed.

When I try to remove the display driver (thinking it might work to remove + then reinstall), it begins to go thru the process, then the system freezes- every time. I tried the HP/Compaq online tech chat, but they were not very helpful- everything they suggested, I had already tried without success.

When I check the status of my system, the display driver Icon comes up with a yellow exclamation mark- indicating there is a problem.

The system works for the most part normally other than the display problem- but it's really annoying.