Spoof Sms Text Messages-how?

Discussion in 'Software' started by vegasman, Jul 17, 2004.

1. vegasman

vegasman Private E-2

I have been receiving spoof sms text messages and I would like to know how this individual is doing it. I am in the United States and the only info I have it that they may be using a palm O/S to do this. They are making SMS text looking like they are coming from somebody else.

Thank you,

Vegasman

2. goldfish

goldfish Lt. Sushi.DC

Probably someone abusing a SMS server provided by a business solution by a cell phone provider. Pretty common. A "business" buys a business SMS package (usually used for mobile intergration over phone or web ... like football scores updates and the such), but more often than not an ad company sets it up and does mass texts to millions of people at once.

Spoofing is dead easy, using the SMS server they can put in any "reply number" they like.

3. vegasman

vegasman Private E-2

Thanks Goldfish,

I am very new to this kind of stuff so HOW can I do this back to this individual because he has it clocked every five minutes so I will have to change my number or start sending him the same messages every five minutes tell him to stop. All I have is a laptop no serious PC equipment or servers. but the individual doing does work for a college sporting network team so what your saying makes sense.

VegasMan

4. vegasman

vegasman Private E-2

Spoof Sms Text

Somebody is sending me SPOOF SMS TEXT clock every five minutes which will force me to change my number. HOW is this guy doing it? Can I trace it. HOW CAN I DO IT BACK TO HIM TELLING HIM TO STOP? I appreciate your tips as this is really becoming just plain harassment towards me.

Thank you in advance,

5. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea

Re: Spoof Sms Text