Gaming on a budget

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Spetsdo, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Spetsdo

Spetsdo Private E-2

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I'm currently shopping around and looking to build myself a mid-lvl gaming system. I am really only concerned with whether or not it will run Counter Strike: Source at 70 fps+, and run starcraft 2 smoothly.

My best friend just got back from Iraq and dropped almost $5000 on a new PC. I challenged that I could build a gaming PC for under $500 that could still run CS:S like glass and play most any new games on the market.

This is my build idea thus far. Your help and suggestions will be priceless to me, seeing as this is my first attempt at custom building a pc.

motherboard
    Intel BOXDG41TY LGA 775 Intel G41 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

processor
    Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80571E7400

Ram
    Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PDC24G6400ELK

power supply
    hec X-Power Pro 600 600W Continuous @ 40°C ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply

case:
    COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel , SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

graphics card
    EVGA 01G-P3-N959-TR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

graphics card cooling fan
    Titan EC-TTC-SC-03 PCI Slot VGA Card Cooling Fan

Now all of these can be easily searched for and read about on newegg.com (where I'll be ordering from).

Obviously I'm missing a few things - namely a hard drive and cd-rom. I'm hoping to salvage these from the PC I am using to post this message.

My current hard drive is:

Manufacturer
    Maxtor
    Manufacturer Part # 6B200R0
    Data Storage

Formatted Capacity
    200GB (actually mine is 300gb)
    Data Transfer Rate
    External
    150 MBps
    To/From Media
    150 MBps
    Buffer 16MB
    Seek Time