Can a PC connect to two networks simultainiously

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tueur, Dec 20, 2011.

1. Tueur

Tueur Sergeant Major

Hi There,

I am a relative network novice and need some help with a setup at work. I have recently inherited and a LAN made up of about 15 PCs which as far as security goes is woefully out of date. There are a couple of PCs with server 2003 and the rest are running XP. it is a closed LAN with not outside internet connection. We do have a broadband connection but that is only used for a VPN connection to software supliers. We recently had a virus outbreak which I have managed to clean up and I am now looking at patching the system and getting AV on.

So... We are currently trialing NOD32 Business and I am trying to sort out getting updates.

The main LAN has a Cisco Switch linking all the PCs together with Static IPs. They arent standard local IPs as they begin 10.x.x.x. We have another Small LAN which I am not managing which has a couple of PCs connected by CAT5 to a BT wireless router with an internet conection and DHCP. We have a spare laptop running XP which has a wireless NIC and a cable NIC... So I want to use the cabled connection onto my LAN and configure static IPs then use the wireles connection to connect to the BT router for internet access. I then want to sent up the a NOD32 mirror service so that it downloads the updates through the BT router and store them on the mirror on the laptop. These are then accessed on the LAN from all the other PCs.

I dont think I can bridge the connections as they use different IP ranges. Aside from this I dont really want to bridge the connections as I dont want the LAN to have internet access and I dont want any comunications between the two networks other than the laptop that is acting as the "bridge"

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers guys

2. djlowe

djlowe Private First Class

Hi,