Can Ping out, but no browser display?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kattmarl, Dec 23, 2004.

1. kattmarl

kattmarl Private E-2

Hey Everyone!
    Thanks for reading my thread - I'm a newbie! [bows to you all] :cool:

I'm really perplexed with a networking/Internet issue.

I have an XP machine which, for some unknown reason, was bumped off the Intenet.. and now I can't get any display in my Firefox or IE browsers.

I have a LAN set up, Linksys Router, with DHCP enabled... have a few other computers hooked up - which are able to access the Internet just fine.

The XP machine was hammered with spyware, I ran Adaware and Spybot, cleaned everything away.. and when I rebooted - no Internet connection. I was told that something might have messed up the Winsock - so I ran lspfix.exe - which seemed to have at least released the IP info.

I'm not well versed in XP - so I don't know if I accidentally removed something XP needed when I scanned for malware.

Here are the current settings:
    Set manually (although Router is using DHCP)
    Node type: Unknown
    IP 192.168.1.103
    Mask 255.255.255.0
    Gateway 192.168.1.1
    DNS 24.52.223.218

I can ping to the DNS and also within my LAN.. I can tracert to an IP outside.. and it seems to find stuff by direct IP.... but, I can't get any display in my browsers.

When I enable DHCP on the machine, I keep getting another IP address:
    169.254.2.147... and of course that last 147 varies each time I boot.. With these settings (outside my IP range?) I can't connect, or even Ping anything.

Not sure if this matters.. but I checked my Host file, which only has 127.0.0.0 Local Host in it...

WHAT DID I DO??? How can I fix this?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
    Might even get a big kiss! ;)

~ Katt

2. RickM

RickM Private First Class