Quick Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SgtSparky, Nov 1, 2011.

1. SgtSparky

SgtSparky Private E-2

Hey! im new to this stuff, but i have an Acer X3400 (the 3GBRam Geforce 9200, X2 215 2.7ghz one) and im wanting to upgrade it,

now.... graphics cards im REALLY struggling to find one of decent value that is low profile bracket that is suitable for most games on high or most modern on medium etc do any of you guys recommend any? and someone mentioned an upgrade of the PSU too?

also in the near future id like to upgrade my CPU is this possible also??

2. Tueur

Tueur Sergeant Major

Hi SgtSparky,

Welcome to MGs. could you please click here to download and install speccy. This will analyse your system and tell us exactly what components you have and allows us to asses where likely bottle necks are and how and what to upgrade. Once installed run a scan and paste the log file into your reply (please remove your Windows Serial key from the log before posting)

What is your budget for your GPU? You may well need to upgrade your PSU depending on the power consumption of your current card and your new card.

It is dificult to get a meaningful improvement to your CPU without upgrading Motherboard and RAM

3. SgtSparky

SgtSparky Private E-2

hi thank you for the quick reply! heres what it says

Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    AMD Athlon II X2 215 42 °C
    Regor 45nm Technology
    RAM
    3.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz (7-7-7-20)
    Motherboard
    Acer Aspire X3400 (CPU 1) 52 °C
    Graphics
    Acer P196HQV (1280x800@60Hz)
    256MB GeForce 9200 (Acer Incorporated [ALI]) 61 °C
    Hard Drives
    313GB Western Digital WDC WD32 00AAJS-22L7A SCSI Disk Device (ATA)
    Optical Drives
    MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0001
    MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0002
    MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0003
    HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH60N SCSI CdRom Device
    MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000
    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio