Looking for Network Controller Driver for Acer TravelMate 2480

Discussion in 'Software' started by cgm707, Feb 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cgm707

cgm707 Private E-2

I think I'm in over my head :( I'm not a techie, but I nervously reformatted my laptop because of some problems I was having.

The laptop originally came with Windows Vista when I bought it about 2 years ago, but I had XP put on it right away. I do have the certified Windows XP CD which is what I used to format the laptop, but I don't have drivers saved anywhere.

Anyway, the only remaining problem under Device Manager is Network Controller. I have tried several drivers recommended to me in other forums. I put the driver on a flash stick, insert it into the problem laptop, copy the driver into a desktop folder called Drivers, and hit the Setup application icon. After checking that I agree to the License Agreement, I hit Next, and then the box disappears.

I have the Local Area Connection icon with a red x through it. I need the regular wireless connection icon. I have 2 other computers in my house on the same wireless network and they are working fine. The problem laptop doesn't use a cable plugged into it for the wireless connection.

I don't know if it is of any help, but here is some detailed info on my Acer TravelMate 2480:

Don't know if this is of any help, but here's more info on the laptop setup:

Attached Files:

• Log.txt
      File size:
      2.3 KB
      Views:
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2009
  2. tunered

tunered MajorGeek

3. cgm707

cgm707 Private E-2

Thanks for the reply.

I've looked at the link you gave me as well as another Acer driver download page. I've tried the wireless drivers and I still have a yellow ? by the Network Controller and not able to detect my wireless modem. As I mentioned before, the other computers in my home are not having any problem with the wireless connection.

4. dlb

dlb MajorGeek