Dell laptop has power but won't boot - please help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JAFL, Mar 11, 2012.

1. JAFL

JAFL Private E-2

I have a 2006 Dell E1505 laptop (with Windows XP Home Edition). The computer has been running fine lately (no viruses, no bsods, etc.). This morning, after leaving the computer in standby mode, I came back about an hour later to a computer that would not come back into operation. After turning it off and trying to restart it, it shows there is power to the system, but the hard drive doesn't work (the hard drive light flickers just once after I hit the power button, then goes dark). The power source is working fine.

I've tried rebooting and hitting F2 or F1 multiple times to try to get into BIOS and reset the boot order so I could use a recovery CD, but I can't even get into BIOS. Literally nothing ever comes up on the monitor.

If anyone can help I'd really appreciate it. I'm a novice with computer repair, so anything that involves physically taking the computer apart may be over my head, however I'm willing to give it a shot if it's not too complicated.

2. Rikky

Rikky Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind

Well the first thing I'd try is a cmos reset,you'll have to take the side off the computer though,disconnect from the mains and find a small coin shaped battery,remove it for 20 secs then replace and try booting your computer.

We'll go from there:)

3. Puppywunder58

Puppywunder58 Master Sergeant

Rikky, it's a laptop.:-D

4. Rikky

Of course I know its a laptop I was just testing you:prolleyes

Pull the battery out and try to boot with just the power cable connected,then pull the power cable and try with just the battery connected.

5. Rikky

Sorry JAFL,my reading skills are questionable at this time in the night/morning.

6. JAFL

JAFL Private E-2

No worries, I appreciate the help. I tried restarting both ways, but the problem still exists.

7. tgell

tgell Major Geek Extraordinaire