Can't post a reply

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by CarolinaCrawdad, Aug 14, 2008.

1. CarolinaCrawdad

CarolinaCrawdad Private E-2

I'm new to this and don't understand why one is not allowed to reply to another one's thread. I saw Major Attitude's reply in the following post http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=118227.

I really don't understand why it would be rude to reply to someone else's post. If that's the rule, then how does one go about asking a question about a post in a thread?? I have visted threads that had good info, but I was unable to ask a question.

How does one go about pursuing a topic in another one's thread??

Thanks in advance. I'm really impressed with what you fellows are doing here.

2. TimW

TimW MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert Staff Member

You can reply to any thread except for threads in the malware section, unless it is your thread. You just have to click on post reply.

What is happening that you can't do so?

3. LauraR

LauraR MajorGeeks Super-Duper Administrator Staff Member

I'm not positive what that comment was in reference to but I think it was a statement about asking a question of your own in someone else's thread. That is considered hijacking here and people are generally warned against it.

The rule of thumb is do not ask a question in someone else's thread. It just confuses the issue. You should start your own thread with any questions and if you so wish put a link to any threads you would like to make reference to.

Also do not reply to threads that are old.

The only replies should be those answering the original poster's question (other than in malware..which as Tim said, you will not be able to reply to a thread there other than your own).

Last edited: Aug 14, 2008
  4. CarolinaCrawdad

CarolinaCrawdad Private E-2