MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-09, 09:01
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IP Addresses.

Both my computers keep disconnecting from the internet. They both disconnect at exactly the same time and both connect the same time.

The connection dies for 2-3 seconds then re-connects itself within another 2-3 seconds.

Went into my router settings and found the 2 computers on my network have 2 different IP addresses, could this be causing the disconnects?

I've got 2 pc's on my network;

Ip Address; 192.168.2.4 Host name: home-3f2dae9mlz MAC Address: 00:04:E2:56:BF:9B
Ip Address; 192.168.2.2 Host name: home-1jb298vqn8 00: MAC Address: 1C:DF:C5:A5:79

Anybody know why i could be disconnecting and reconnecting within few seconds?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-13-09, 09:20
Techeads's Avatar
Techeads Techeads is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western Hemisphere
Posts: 7
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Looks like you have a 4 port router and the IP addresses are OK.
Did this just start happening? Did you ever use Dial-up? Do you have more than one connection per computer, ie: 10-100MB or 100-1000MB network cards?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-09, 09:51
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

I'm not very computer savvy to do with networking and stuff.

How do i found out about the network card info?

Yeah it's started happening the past week or so, I've had the wireless modem router for about 6 months and it was perfect before this week i never had connections issues.

The thing i find strange since it's been happening i haven't changed nothing from the computer settings or router settings so it's just happened by itself.

I've never had Dial-up, always been broadband.

Last edited by pompeylol; 04-13-09 at 09:52.. Reason: forgot to had additional info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-09, 10:19
Techeads's Avatar
Techeads Techeads is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western Hemisphere
Posts: 7
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Right click on the network icon near the clock in the task bar. (Or, select network from the start menu or program manager) Select 'Local Area Connection Status' then the 'Support Tab'. Then select the details button.

Can you access the router with IE? If you can, check out the stats and details of your setup for a 'time-out' or 're-try' to connect settings. you might be shutting down by timming out.
Also, most ISP (ie Verizon, Cox, ATT) push changes directly to your router and can over ride or change your settings. Once you gain access to the router, turn OFF remote admin and change the password (usually admin or 'blank') to limit access to your router.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-09, 10:44
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techeads View Post
Right click on the network icon near the clock in the task bar. (Or, select network from the start menu or program manager) Select 'Local Area Connection Status' then the 'Support Tab'. Then select the details button.
Ok, i accessed this.. Gives me Physical address, IP Address, Subnect mark etc.

What did you need to know from the Details?

Ok i entered into the routers settings and i made my own password for the router. There is a setting that says Login timeout (10).

I can't find the setup for "time-out" or "re-try" settings in the router.

Also, i couple days ago i undone the whole network and took away the wireless modem router and just put the mains broadband wire into my pc and i didn't get disconnected all day so i know the reason i'm disconnecting is due to my router i just don't know why.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 04-13-09, 10:55
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

sounds to me like the router is reinitializing itself every couple of seconds. take one machine off of the router and see what happens. then take the other machine off of the router and see what happens.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-09, 11:22
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Jconstan, this you mean put the wired connection into the pc and put the usb adapter onto the other machine then swap the wired to the other pc then the usb adapter to the other pc. Ifso, i've done this and the problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-09, 13:05
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pompeylol View Post
Jconstan, this you mean put the wired connection into the pc and put the usb adapter onto the other machine then swap the wired to the other pc then the usb adapter to the other pc. Ifso, i've done this and the problem persists.
I mean, connect only one machine at a time. If each one, while connected, does the same thing then it has to be a problem with the router.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-09, 16:04
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Oh ok, i'll try the other PC.

But this pc connected by itself with the wired connection stays connected without disconnected but i'll try the other pc tomorrow. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-09, 04:12
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

I put the wired connection into both PC's now with the network undone and both PC's ran games without disconnecting at all.

I think i'm just going to buy a new wireless modem router.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 04-14-09, 09:23
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pompeylol View Post
I put the wired connection into both PC's now with the network undone and both PC's ran games without disconnecting at all.

I think i'm just going to buy a new wireless modem router.
Can you explain what this means? Do you mean with the wireless network undone or something else?
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-09, 12:12
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Sorry, yes i mean there was only one computer connected to the broadband via the wired cable.

The wireless modem router was switched off.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-14-09, 12:21
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

So, as I'm understanding it you work OK with both computers wired to the router but wireless gives you a problem from each computer, correct?

Is your wireless network secure? Is it possible that another machine close to you could be utilizing your wireless connection????
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-14-09, 14:30
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

I've got 20mb cable broadband with a ISP modem, with the wired connection from the ISP modem into my computer the internet works like a dream not one disconect all day the same if i put the wired connection into the other PC so i know it's nothing to do with the network cards on each machine or it's nothing to do with my ISP or the ISP modem.

My wireless connection is encrypted with WPA-PSK.

What does this mean;

IP Address Host Name MAC Address
192.168.2.2 home-3f2dae9mlz 00-1C-DF-C5-A5-79
192.168.2.3 steve-5oki6s9bw 00-04-23-66-E4-12
192.168.2.4 NintendoDS 00-23-31-D3-98-83
192.168.2.5 iPhone-5 00-21-E9-2A-2E-D7
192.168.2.6 ANDYHOME 00-40-2B-60-26-FE


This is on DHCP Client List.. how can i have these people on my network when i should only have 2 people myself and one other. I don't have nintendoDS in my house or iphone and i don't know who Andy is.

Is this to do with what Wireless channel i'm using and could having all these unknown people on my network causing the disconnects? Only problem i see with this is why it's only just started happening when it's been ok for 6 months.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-14-09, 15:26
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

It certainly would appear that three other machines are using your wireless connection. Can it have something to do with your disconnects.....yes. Could you have reset your router by using the hard reset and not reconfigure the security afterwords?
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 04-14-09, 15:29
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

What kind of router is it? Does it have several lan ports?
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-14-09, 16:26
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

This is my router;

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=272220

I tried Resetting the modem with a pin and it reset the whole thing and that didn't work.

You wouldn't believe this but today, my brother came home and wanted to use the internet too so i connected the wireless modem and now my internet SSID is Coventry_net when my SSID should be Belkin_morris ... and for past 4-5 hours i havn't disconnected once... i check all the settings in the router and they are different to what i set all mine so it appears i'm in somebody elses wireless router and my internet is fine.. we both playing games and my ping is 47. It's working perfectly again lol

I don't know what to do, should i keep all the settings and stay on this network? I didn't tell my machines to connect to this network it did it automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-15-09, 09:17
jconstan's Avatar
jconstan jconstan is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 3
Thanked 103 Times in 97 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

I'm sorry but I am confused. You said you reset the modem with a pin, do you mean the router? If you reset the router then all of your settings would be reset to default INCLUDING the SSID. So, your machine would not find your network because of the new name and would seek out other ones. That's why you are connected to Coventry_net, which appears to be unsecured. Let your conscience be your guide BUT eventually that person will secure his network and you will not be able to get on and left with your original problem.
__________________
"Knowledge is useless unless it can be applied to help someone"

-JimC
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-15-09, 13:47
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Yeah, you're right. When i came on today obviously his network was offline and i had to setup mine again. I'm getting the same problem and i got this today;

Network Timeout

The server at 192.168.2.1 is taking too long to respond.


Strangely i'm not getting disconnected as much but now i'm getting lag spikes when gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-15-09, 13:54
pompeylol pompeylol is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP Addresses.

Also, in my router in the security log i get this..


Log File

System log:


Get IP Address 82.14.2.119 From DHCP Server => Wed Apr 15 07:15:13 2009

WAN Connection Disconnected => Wed Apr 15 07:15:12 2009

Get IP Address 82.14.2.119 From DHCP Server => Wed Apr 15 06:40:16 2009

WAN Connection Disconnected => Wed Apr 15 06:40:15 2009

Get IP Address 82.14.2.119 From DHCP Server => Wed Apr 15 06:15:29 2009

WAN Connection Disconnected => Wed Apr 15 06:15:28 2009

Get IP Address 82.14.2.119 From DHCP Server => Wed Apr 15 06:09:06 2009

WAN Connection Disconnected => Wed Apr 15 06:09:05 2009

Get IP Address 82.14.2.119 From DHCP Server => Wed Apr 15 05:58:24 2009
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting 2 different IP addresses - also need DNS vicnuts Software 3 05-09-08 21:42
ip addresses dustytrails Software 9 07-06-07 22:22
IP addresses leopold99 Software 3 11-26-06 11:42
RAM addresses lionrampant Hardware 1 09-13-06 13:06
oe addresses wmarkj Software 1 01-28-06 21:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger