Old Compressed Files

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by Jameo, Oct 15, 2008.

1. Jameo

Jameo Private E-2

Hi Everyone,

It is my first time here and I am excited:dancer.
    My issue is this.....
    I have run CC cleanup, avg, you name it I have done it. When I try to run Disk Clean up, it shows me as havin 216,157K in old compressed files. I would like to find these files delete them. Where can I find them...Plus when I try to defrag it states that I only have 7% of free space. I need to make more space avail any suggestions?

Thanks,

2. Cat_w_9_lives

Cat_w_9_lives Major KittyCat

Welcome to MajorGeeks Jameo, excited is good and keeps the blood flowing to the brain :)

You will get more help here in Software with your questions, happy cleaning.

3. Kestrel13!

Kestrel13! Super Malware Fighter - Major Dilemma Staff Member

welcome to the forums :wave

4. Jameo

Jameo Private E-2

Thanks for the welcome. I searched the software threads all day today, most of what I found basically dealt with cleaning by using cc-clean up etc. I followed those but I just want to know how to access the old compressed files so that I can manually delete them......:confused

5. Lev

Lev MajorGeek

Tried searching for .zip?

6. wildwolf220

wildwolf220 Oracle of Doom

:wave and welcome to MG's..

7. Jameo

Jameo Private E-2

Thanks...I'll try that tonight!!!!

8. Horsey

Horsey Sergeant

:wave and welcome to Major Geeks! :major

9. Cat_w_9_lives

Cat_w_9_lives Major KittyCat

Sorry, my failure to communicate via post. Not sure what is in the compressed files and most likely some files that are needed.

Did you compress your C drive, see attached is the box checked when you right click your C drive, look at Properties.

This guide might help http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=106650. As far as space goes, review old mail, programs, pics, documents and get rid of what you no longer need or use.