Want to upgrade RAM on Dell Dimension 4500

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by snowfalldream, Feb 4, 2006.

1. snowfalldream

snowfalldream Private E-2

First off, please consider me as a "civilian" in the field of computing. I know what a motherboard is, for example, but if you refer to it as a "mobo" I might not get it. That kind of thing.
    Alright, that disclaimer aside, I have a Dell Dimension 4500 that my parents purchased for me back in 2002 (I am a college student). It came with 128 RAM, which I knew even then was low, but it was in the price range. I have been noticing lately that there have been a higher frequency of crashes, and my computer has a hard time running certain programs quickly, or at the same time another program is running (like SIMcity by itself, or three browser windows, etc.)
    So I should upgrade my RAM, right? And how do I go about doing this myself, and how much should I get? I am a student, remember! =) If anyone wants to help, I'd appreciate it!! Also, if I have a problem with my cd-r drive not recognizing a blank recordable disc, do I need to post that problem on another thread?
    Thanks!

2. Batteries

Batteries Private E-2

Hey!
    Welcome to the forums.......
    Well, 128Mb these days is pretty low. In fact, its the bare, bare minimun you should have. Replacing the RAM is pretty simple. You just have to open up your case, and find the "stick" of RAM. You will almost immediately notice it, because its thin and kind of long.

I would suggest you get a 512MB module in addition to your 128Mb one. It will total 640Mb of RAM which is pretty good. I would recommend a Dual Channel setup, but since you aren't very familiar with computers, that would just confuse you, and we don't want that.

I recommend this RAM for you:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227037