how to hook up fan directly to mobo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by czkjyg, Aug 28, 2004.

1. czkjyg

czkjyg Private E-2

I have the Volcano 7+ (A1254) for P4 Socket 478
    fan and i just bought a p4c800-e deluxe asus motherboard.

http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/socket478/p4c800-e_d/overview.HTM

It has built in fan speed controller on the motherboard. My question
    is, can i plug my fan directly to the board and let my motherboard
    controll the fan speed instead of the Tt Speed Control Unit?

How do i do this, the fan has 2 wires coming off of it without the Tt
    speed controll unit attached.

I did contact thermaltake and thier reply was, "yes its compatable". And asus never did reply back. I know this is a total newbie question, but im afraid to plug it directly to the board since im not sure which wires would go where. I have it hooked up right now using the speed control unit, but as you know you have to manualy switch speeds and i would prefer to let the board do it.

Thank you very much for reading, and any info you could give me :)

2. suesman

suesman First Sergeant

There should be a 3 pin connector between the CPU Socket & the Memory banks. If the fan has a 3 pin connector I wouldn't see why you could not use that.

I looked at the board in the link you gave & it does show a 3 pin connector next to the CPU socket.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. ;)

3. suesman

suesman First Sergeant

Ok at the risk of sounding like a smart***, "Read the Manual", it will tell you which of the fan connectors is the correct one to use.

4. Anon-15281db623

Anon-15281db623 Anonymized

Did the fan come with at Sensor? My volcano has a sensor that you put under the cpu. As the temps rise the fan spins faster.