Only boots to last known good configuration

Discussion in 'Software' started by el jay, Jun 24, 2015.

1. el jay

el jay Private E-2

Hello,I hope this is in the correct place. My computer (HP dc5100 XP Pro sp3) will only boot to last known good configuration. Safe or normal boot gets BSOD, error code 0x0000007b (0xf789e524, 0xc000000e, 0x00000000, 0x00000000). After boot it will say it is loading drivers, then that the drivers loaded but may not work till I reboot, which of course brings the same BSOD. Most programs work with this boot into last known good, but USD drives don't work even though they are correctly identified in device manager, and in the safe removal menu. I've been trying to solve this for about a month now. I've been working on computers for nearly 20 years, but I can't get this one. That is a first for me-I've never met a problem I couldn't solve till now. Thanks much.

2. AtlBo

AtlBo Major Geek Extraordinaire

el jay...

I guess you have tried system restore? Do you have a sp3 installation disk? Running sfc /scannow with an installation disk might at least get you started.

The other thing that comes to mind is chkdsk /r. Open command prompt from Accessories in the start menu, then just type chkdsk /r.

I guess somewhere in the past month you probably tried these...

3. mdonah

mdonah Major Geek Extraordinaire

You may have gotten a Boot Sector virus. The error code 0x0000007b refers to an inaccessible boot device.

If you can, go to the Malware Removal forum and go COMPLETELY through "Read and Run Me First" and post a new thread in the Malware Forum.

If virus removal doesn't solve the issue, you're faced with completely WIPING the drive and re-installing XP SP3.

Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  4. el jay

el jay Private E-2

Hello and thanks for your response. Yes, I have tried these. The problem with sfc is that I get a pop-up telling me that I have the wrong CD, but of course it is the correct CD. Thanks again.

5. el jay

el jay Private E-2