Boot up problem with Win 7 gets stuck

Discussion in 'Software' started by bobbycow, Mar 1, 2013.

1. bobbycow

bobbycow Private E-2

Medion PC – only 6 months old

1TB hard drive with 100 MB partition for memory
    6GB RAM CPU 3GHz Windows 7 Home Premium

Please don’t be mislead by the extent of my investigations into this problem – I am far from a techie and gleaned all these methods off the net
    So it may be that I am not applying them correctly or do not understand them right. I am probably out of my depth!

This was working absolutely fine until I did a routine restart and it failed to reboot properly.
    Instead it booted with the message "reboot and select proper boot device – or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key".

CTRL, ALT and DEL had no effect.
    I did a hard reboot from here with exactly the same result.
    I repeated the process this time tapping the "delete" key which gave me access to the Windows logo and the message that I could press F2 for the BIOS or F8 for the BOOT order - both of these were fine and I swapped the BOOT order to DVD 1st and did another hard boot which landed me back at the first screen above.
    I then tried booting up with a boot disc for Win 7 and then a system rescue disc, but both only took me as far as the original screen message outlined at the beginning – they failed to initiate a system reboot.

This time though CTRL, ALT and DELETE took me to the Windows 7 repair screen, giving me the various options for repair.
    Start-up repair failed with the message "cannot repair - try system disc"
    System repair failed also with the message "select OS before using this option."
    System image recovery failed with the message "cannot find System Image Backup."
    Windows Memory Diagnostic failed to run with the message unable to run