New n00b that has some inquiries

Discussion in 'Software' started by Lokin, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Lokin

Lokin Private E-2

Hi, I've randomly stumbled upon this website while using a search engine to find out what's the best Defragment Software out there. I'm a total noob in computing but I know some very few basic tricks. I hope that I can learn a lot more from here because I want to become a programmer(or something like a technician). Don't expect much from me since I've...never done any computer courses before and didn't accomplished any high level education yet (only got out of highschool a few months ago ^^; )

I'll apologize for my discourtesy and my useless ramblings in advance(beware of the tl;dr).

Okay I was going to ask in this thread why my PC's fonts are blue but I soon found my answer while googling---it was something called the NTFS compression.

I know that it's for making the files taking less space, if so, then it's supposed to be good, right? But then I also wondered about the downsides about it.... ...would it be worth it to convert all of my NTFS disks into the compressed mode?

Okay so here's my situation:

My C disk has only has 45GB in space, and the other storage disks only have 150GB in total. My disks are very,VERY quickly filled up as I have the \ hobby of going on everywhere to download and tests new programs (and no they're not illegal---there's only free versions and some trial versions ).*Around 100GB was consumed in 2 weeks*
    Hopefully, my 1TB removable HD order came around 5 days ago so I've moved 95% of the things from here to there.

CPU:1.67GHz
    RAM:0.99GB
    XP Ver.2002 Service Pack 3
    Intel Atom

Since I always download and move things around... ...I actively run disk cleanups, registry repairs and disfragmenters at least...once per day (sometimes I run more than 3 times per day because I always have the need to move my downloaded files to my removable HD).

Sooo.... I hope you get the image;