Cannot obtain IP address

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kirk48, Mar 18, 2011.

1. kirk48

kirk48 Corporal

Chaslang told me to check in here when I asked the malware guys to check my logs. He said the logs showed no ethernet hardware and to fix that first. There was some malware on the computer, and I ran the required programs although I wasn't able to complete them due to no internet. I was able to connect yesterday for awhile using a USB ethernet device, but not today. When I run ipconfig/renew I get a message saying an internal error occured: access is denied. The next line says I should contact Microsoft support and there is additional info: unable to open registry key for tcpip. So here I am, hat in hand.

2. LI_Geek_95

LI_Geek_95 Post-and-Run Geek

Hello! My name is Zack and I am a network tech :)

I would be more than happy to help you with your problem, I just need some info.

1. Operating System?
    2. Service Pack?
    3. Are you using a router? If so, what kind?
    4. Are you logged in as an admin while doing this?

Thanks!

3. kirk48

kirk48 Corporal

Well hello Zack, thanks for looking at my thread. Chaslang tells me I have some minor malware concerns but nothing that would affect the network.