Hey everybody, long long time no geek

Discussion in 'Software' started by GEEKWANNAB, Jul 20, 2008.

1. GEEKWANNAB

GEEKWANNAB Private First Class

Well thanks to all of you, my PENTIUM 2 233 MHZ WIN 95 computer is still kickin (knock wood). SO I was finally able to pry open my wallet with a crowbar and get a new machine.

It's a DELL (DUDE I GOT A DELL) CORE 2 6600 QUAD 2.4 GHZ 8 MB CACHE
    3 GB DDRS SDRAM @667 MHZ
    VISTA HOME PREMIUM SP1

I'm still using dial up for now and the new computer is slower than the old machine. I was reading the Major's post on setting up a new machine and I want to make sure I understand the first step.

I should first put in the OPERATING SYSTEM CD and run it. Than I should put in the DRIVERS AND UTILITIES CD and run that. I don't have to reformat the hard drive? Just put in the CD's and run them? (bear with me , I've been using WIN 95 for the last ten years)

I have Mcafee 9.0 with free updates for a month. Would I be better not reloading MCAFEE and using AVAST instead (it's free). That's what I have on the old computer and it works well along with CRAP CLEANER, SPYBOT S&D, SPYWARE GUARD, SPYWARE BLASTER AND HIJACK THIS.

I also see that INTERNET EXPLORER has been bastardized by GOOGLE. Coud this be slowing down the browser? Maybe Microsoft should change the name to GOOGLE EXPLORER.

THANKS, I'm going to have alota questions

2. Goran.P

Goran.P MajorGeek

Just Shoot!!!!!:guns
    WE will try to answer your questions.In MJ style.:major

I think?:confused

3. Fred_G

Fred_G Heat packin' geek

Are you wanting to reinstall the OS? If you got a Dell, it should be ready to run out of the box. Well, I would delete all the junk programs and stuff Dell puts on them. Here is a program you might want to check out: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download5223.html

Wow. Win95... Been a long time since I used that OS! :-D

E

Last edited: Jul 20, 2008
  4. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire